Community Games U-10 team qualifies for semi-final

posted May 24, 2013, 11:50 PM by Richard Canny   [ updated May 25, 2013, 9:02 AM by Naomh Brid ]

Roscommon U-10 Community Games Gaelic Football:

Kiltoom/Cam..... 6-9      Kilbride....1-2

The Community Games U-10 team qualified for the semi-final of the Community Games on Thurday evening last with a good win over a very young and skilful Kilbride team.

Playing with a strong wind in the first half, Kiltoom/Cam dominated possession early on but failed to put scores on the board.  Eventually they found their range and scores from Thomas O’Brien, Daniel Keenan, Bobby Nugent, Shane Daly and Ronan Doyle put them into a commanding lead coming up to half time. Kilbride replied with two fine points from play.

Kiltoom/Cam faced a strong wind in the second half but still managed to dominate possession. Further goals by Simon O’Boyle and Jamie Curley put the issue beyond doubt.  Kilbride battled back bravely and managed to breach the Kiltoom/Cam rearguard for a fine goal and continued to put the defence under pressure. 

However, stout defending by Shane O’Boyle, Daniel Melia and Heather McGrane ensured that no further scores were conceded.  Kiltoom/Cam finished strongly and added further points to run out comfortable winners.   The defence was solid all through and limited the Kilbride forwards to very few scoring chances. Midfield dominated for long periods and provided a plentiful supply of ball into the forwards. 

The forwards all played well with Conor Hand, Aine McGrath, Amy Gallagher and Paddy Higgins particularly prominent. Kevin Derwin deserves a special mention for playing despite sustaining a painful injury prior to the game. The semi-finals and final will be played on Sunday, June 2nd in Ballyleague.

Team and scorers: Harry Griselain, Abbie Murray, James Rourke, Marian Nolan, Daniel Meeley, Shane Daly(1-1), Shane O'Boyle, Bobby Nugent (1-3), Thomas O'Brien (1-3), Aine McGrath, Daniel Keenan (1-1), Kevin Derwin, Simon O'Boyle (1-0), Ronan Doyle (0-1), Conor Hand, Amy Gallagher, Heather McGrane, Oran Benton, Paddy Higgins, Jamie Curley (1-0).