October 2014 Roscommon Senior County Champions 5 in a row

St. Brigid’s 3-12

St. Faithleach’s 0-7

Frankie Dolan and Senan Kilbride scored 1-8 to 2-1 respectively as St. Brigid’s made it five-in-a-row with a comfortable victory over St. Faithleach’s at Dr Hyde Park.

Thirty-six-year-old Dolan showed that class is permanent with a brilliant scoring performance. With the wind to his back, he slotted over two early 45s before crashing home the opening goal in the seventh minute after Faithleach’s had failed to clear their lines.

Further scores from Dolan and wing backs Darragh Donnelly and Robbie Kelly helped the 2013 All-Ireland club champions to a 1-7 to 0-1 interval lead, with Faithleach’s only point of the first half coming from a Diarmuid Murtagh free in the 24th minute.

Faithleach’s improved on the restart, but Benny O’Brien’s charges put them to the sword in the final quarter when Kilbride bagged a brace of goals.

Brigid’s will surely face a sterner test when they travel to Castlebar to face Mayo champions Ballintubber in the Connacht club championship in a couple of weeks’ time.

St. Brigid’s – S Curran; R Kelly (0-1), D Donnelly (0-1), N McInerney; R Stack, I Kilbride, N Grehan; K Mannion (0-1), P Kelly; A Gleeson, F Dolan (1-8, 0-3f, 2’45), E Egan; C McHugh, S Kilbride (2-1), P Mulvihill. Subs: D Kelleher for E Egan, G Dolan for A Gleeson, D Dolan for P Mulvihill, D Blaine for I Kilbride, A McInerney for F Dolan, D Sheehy for P Kelly.

St. Faithleach’s – S O’Connor; D McCormack, C Gunn, D Murray; C Brennan, B Murtagh, K Farrell; H Kenny, S O’Grady; D Hussey, A Dooney (0-2), D Rooney (0-1’45); D Murtagh (0-2f), C Murtagh (0-2), E Kenny. Subs: C Gannon for D Hussey, J Mulryan Walsh for H Kenny, J Quigley for S O’Grady (BC).

Referee – F Keane.

(Source Hoganstand.com)

Photos courtesy of Benny Hynes (B-Scope Studions).

2014 Roscommon Senior County Champions (5 in a row)